By Jaesea Gatherum and Ariell Allred

Utah State University’s head track coach, Peter Larsen, has officially resigned after covering up the alleged rape of USU student Alyssa Michaelson by track athlete Jose Gonzales.

Michaelson’s roommate, Mary Wentworth, said the incident occurred when Michaelson attended a frat party Friday.

“Alyssa went to the coach the next day and told him about it. He told her he would do something about it but never did,” Wentworth said.

In a press release, Larsen wrote that he felt conflicted about his decision to cover up Michaelson’s story.

“I felt a duty to both Alyssa and to USU track team,” Larsen wrote in a press release today. “We need Jose.”

In the press release Larsen also apologized to Michaelson.

“I am deeply sorry for the pain I have caused…Alyssa Michaelson,” Larsen said. “I apologize profusely for my failure to act.”

Larsen has officially resigned as the USU track coach.

“I will do what is best for Utah State University athletics and am officially resigned as of now.”

Assistant coach Steve Jones is now the interim head coach.

